Tuesday, December 23, 2008

Bush's 4th Year Pardons Follow Typical Pattern

With the granting of 19 pardons and 1 commutation of sentence today, George W. Bush's second term now features the highest number of pardons in the 4th and final year. This was also the case in Bush's first term, and has been the case for most terms throughout history. Here then is an updated listing of presidential terms where the highest number of pardons was granted in the 4th and final year of the term:

1. George Washington (2nd term)
2. John Adams
3. Thomas Jefferson (1st term)
4. James Madison (1st term)
5. James Madison (2nd term)
6. James Monroe (1st term)
7. Andrew Jackson (2nd term)
8. James Polk
9. James Buchanan
10. Abraham Lincoln (1st term)
11. Ulysses Grant (1st term)
12. Ulysses Grant (2nd term)
13. Chester Arthur (succession term)
14. Grover Cleveland (1st term)
15. Grover Cleveland (2nd term)
16. Benjamin Harrison
17. Theodore Roosevelt (succession term)
18. William H. Taft
19. Woodrow Wilson (1st term)
20. Woodrow Wilson (2nd term)
21. Calvin Coolidge (1st term)
22. Herbert Hoover
23. Frankin D. Roosevelt (2nd term)
24. Dwight Eisenhower (1st term)
25. Dwight Eisenhower (2nd term)
26. Gerald Ford (succession term)
27. Ronald Reagan (2nd term)
28. George H.W. Bush
29. Bill Clinton (2nd term)
30. George W. Bush (1st term)
31. George W. Bush (2nd term)

No comments:

blogger templates | Make Money Online