Friday, January 9, 2009

Context: Blagojevich Impeached

While former Illinois Governor George Ryan sits in prison and former governors from Alabama and Louisiana are similarly situated, the current governor of the State of Illinois, Rod Blagojevich has been impeached. We seem to be getting close to having a gubernatorial infield in the federal penal system!

John Quitman, MS (1851) - indicted, resigned
Zebulon Vance, SC (1865) - arrested as Confederate
David Butler, NE (1871) - impeached, removed, then impeachment was expunged
William H. Holden, NC (1871) - impeached, removed
Rufus Brown Bullock, GA (1871) - resigned, acquitted
Adelbert Ames, MS (1876) - impeached, resigned
William Sulzer, NY (1913) - impeached, removed
James E. Ferguson, TX (1917) - indicted, resigned right before impeachment
John C. Walton, OK (1923) - impeached, removed
Warren T. McCray, IN (1924) - convicted, resigned, then pardoned
Henry S. Johnston, OK (1929) - impeached, removed
Henry Horton, TN (1931) - impeached, then acquitted
William Langer, ND (1934) - convicted, vacated office, then acquitted
Richard Leche, LA (1939) - resigned, convicted, pardoned
Marvin Mandel, MD (1977) - resigned, commutation of sentence
Ray Blanton, TN (1981) - vacated office, acquitted, then convicted after term
Evan Mecham, AZ (1988) - impeached, removed, then acquitted
Guy Hunt, AL (1993) - convicted, then removed
David Walters, OK (1994) - indicted, plead guilty to misdemeanor
Jim Guy Tucker, AR (1996) - convicted, then resigned
J. Fife Symington, AZ (1997) - convicted, resigned, won an appeal, then pardoned
Edwin W. Edwards, LA (1998) - convicted after term, pardon application in
Edward DiPrete, RI (1998) - convicted after term
John G. Rowland, CN (2004) - resigned, then convicted
James McGreevey, NJ (2004) - resigned
Bob Taft, OH (2006) - convicted of four misdemeanors
George Ryan, IL (2006) - convicted after term, pardon application in
Ernie Fletcher, KY (2006) - indicted, charges dropped
Don Siegelman, AL (2006) - indicted, charges dropped, convicted after term
Eliot Spitzer, NY (2008) - resigned, no charges filed
Rod Blagojevich, IL (2009) - impeached

No comments:

blogger templates | Make Money Online